Home Page About Projects Contact

Upcoming Events

4th Annual East Tennessee Veterans' Business Conference - August 3rd
Event Flyer (107KB PDF)

SMRCD Area Plan 2008-2012
Event Flyer (107KB PDF)

SMRCD Annual Report 2009
Event Flyer (46KB PDF)

Mission Statement

The mission of the Smoky Mountain RC&D Council and its programs is to empower residents to improve their quality of life through economic and community development while sustaining the natural resources of the area.

General Description of the Area

The Smoky Mountain Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Area encompasses both the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee, as well as parts of the French Broad, Nolichucky, Little Tennessee, and Holston River basins. The counties included in this RC&D area are as follows: Blount, Cocke, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, and Sevier. The area includes approximately 1,629,440 acres (2546 square miles) including parts of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Cherokee national Forest. The area is bordered by the mountains of North Carolina along the southeast, by Greene County (TN) on the northeast, by the Holston River to the north, and by Anderson, Roane, and Loudon Counties to the west. The area has a very diverse land use and geology. This is a rugged, rural landscape that is dominated by the Appalachian Mountains. The severely dissected ridges and narrow valleys that formed the western frontier of early America continue to influence transportation, commerce, agriculture, and land use.

The population of the six county region is approximately 712,171 according to an estimated figure obtained by the US Census Bureau in 2002. Farming enterprises include beef cattle, tobacco, dairy, poultry, and specialty crops. The vast majority of farmers are part-time within this region. Most jobs are in a variety of service trades (16.7%) and manufacturing facilities (21.3%). The average per capita income for the area in 1999 was $17,970, with the median household income calculated to be $33,460 per year. Unemployment across the area was calculated at a rate of 5.7 %. The Smoky Mountain RC&D Area received its charter in June 1997, as well as successfully obtained its 501(c)3 tax status with the Internal Revenue Service. At this point, the Council consisted of only five counties (Blount, Cocke, Hamblen, Jefferson, and Sevier). The Council’s borders were expanded to include Knox County in late 2004.

In addition, the Smoky Mountain RC&D has received grants from the USDA Forest Service, Tennessee Department of Agriculture, Tennessee Valley Authority, US Fish & Wildlife Service, Tennessee Arts Commission, and the USDA – Rural Development. The funds generated from these grantors will be used to initiate and complete projects that will help to meet the goals and objectives of Smoky Mountain RC&D.

The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, or marital or family status. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) Persons with disabilities who have means for communication of program information (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact the USDA´s TARGET Center at 202-720-2600.
To file a complaint of discrimination, write the USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, Room 326-W, Whitten Building, 14th and Independence Avenue, Washington, DC 20250-9410, or call 202-720-5964 (voice and TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.